- 1 In-State School, Mostly Online format, plus 2 online options compared
Oregon has one Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) program: a dual Primary and Acute Care BSN-to-DNP at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) in Portland. It is Mostly Online, with campus intensives in Portland.
Since OHSU offers a single route, each table below adds two online programs that enroll Oregon residents: Maryville University and UT Arlington.
| School | Tracks | Online Format | Campus Commitment | Cost Per Credit | Degrees | Best For |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| OHSU Portland | Dual (PC/AC) | Mostly Online | Executive-model intensives in Portland; frequency not clearly stated | $727 | DNP | BSN nurses who want both PNP credentials and faculty-arranged rotations |
| Maryville University (online) | Primary Care | Online | None | $900 (master’s); $995 (doctoral) | MSN, DNP, Certificate | Primary Care nurses who want a shorter degree and frequent starts |
| UT Arlington (online) | Primary Care + Acute Care | Online | None | $654 | MSN, Certificate | Experienced RNs who want one population at the lowest price |
Oregon eligibility: Maryville’s June 2026 licensure grids list Oregon as meeting educational requirements for all four of its PNP pathways. UTA’s state authorization map lists Oregon for its online PNP programs. UTA’s dual PC/AC MSN runs only on campus in Arlington, so it is left out of this guide.
Oregon PNP Programs at a Glance
- Schools: 1 in-state, plus 2 online options compared
- Primary Care: Yes, at OHSU within the dual DNP; also online at Maryville and UTA
- Acute Care: Yes, at OHSU within the dual DNP; as a stand-alone track, online at UTA only
- MSN: Online only; UTA admits ADN or BSN nurses, Maryville BSN nurses
- DNP: In-state at OHSU, BSN entry only; online at Maryville, BSN or MSN entry
- Certificate: Online only, at Maryville and UTA
- Format: OHSU is Mostly Online with Portland intensives; neither online option requires campus visits
- Lowest published in-state tuition: $88K for OHSU’s dual DNP (resident, with required fees)
Choosing a PNP Program in Oregon
Both Board Exams and Built-In Inpatient Training: OHSU
Every OHSU graduate is prepared for both the CPNP-PC and CPNP-AC exams. Faculty assign placements, including PICU, hospitalist, and subspecialty rotations. No RN experience is required, so new BSN graduates can apply. The entry-year rate holds through graduation. The costs: 113 credits, three full-time years, one fall intake with interviews, and an Oregon RN license before the first clinical course.
A Master’s or Certificate on Your Schedule: Maryville
Maryville covers the routes OHSU does not: an MSN, a post-master’s certificate, and an MSN-to-DNP. All are Primary Care only and fully online, with six starts a year and no GRE. It requires one year of RN experience. Maryville publishes no clinical hour total and does not state that it secures clinical sites.
ADN Entry and Acute Care Without Primary Care: UTA
UTA lets nurses pick one population, Primary Care or Acute Care, at $654 per credit. Its RN-to-MSN fast track admits associate-degree nurses. Students locate their own preceptors, and BSN entry requires two years of RN experience. Unlike OHSU, UTA’s Acute Care MSN also requires two years of pediatric acute care experience within the past five years.
Oregon RN-to-MSN PNP Programs
OHSU requires a BSN, apart from a direct route for its own accelerated BS students, so Oregon has no RN-entry PNP pathway. UTA is the only option in this guide that admits associate-degree nurses. Its online fast track completes an RN-to-BSN phase, then moves straight into a Primary Care or Acute Care MSN.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| UT Arlington (online) | Primary Care | $35K (nursing courses only) | 42+ months | ~720 (est.) |
| UT Arlington (online) | Acute Care | $38K (nursing courses only) | 42+ months | ~720 (est.) |
- Experience requirement: The fast track lists no acute care gate, but the Acute Care MSN it leads into requires two years of pediatric acute care RN experience within five years.
Compare more programs: See all RN-to-MSN PNP programs
Oregon BSN-to-MSN PNP Programs
OHSU awards no PNP master’s degree; its BSN applicants enter the DNP. Both online options offer an MSN with no campus travel. Maryville’s covers Primary Care. UTA’s comes in separate Primary Care and Acute Care tracks, each well under half of OHSU’s DNP tuition.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maryville University (online) | Primary Care | $42K | 20 months full-time | Not clearly stated |
| UT Arlington (online) | Primary Care | $27K | 29–33 months | ~720 (est.) |
| UT Arlington (online) | Acute Care | $29K | 31–33 months | ~720 (est.) |
- Lowest estimated tuition: UTA Primary Care, at $27K.
- Shortest completion: Maryville, about 20 months full-time.
- Experience requirement: Maryville asks for one year of RN experience; UTA asks for two.
Compare more programs: See all BSN-to-MSN PNP programs
Oregon BSN-to-DNP PNP Programs
This is Oregon’s only in-state PNP pathway. OHSU’s three-year dual DNP prepares BSN nurses for both pediatric populations in one plan of study. Maryville offers a fully online Primary Care BSN-to-DNP. UTA has no PNP doctorate.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OHSU Portland | Dual (PC/AC) | $88K | 3 years full-time | ~1,000 |
| Maryville University (online) | Primary Care | $70K | 40 months | Not clearly stated |
- Only Acute Care option: OHSU, through its dual track.
- Campus requirement: OHSU holds executive-model intensives in Portland; it does not publish how often.
- Experience requirement: OHSU publishes none; Maryville requires one year of RN experience.
Compare more programs: See all BSN-to-DNP PNP programs
Oregon MSN-to-DNP PNP Programs
OHSU admits only BSN-prepared nurses, so Oregon has no MSN-entry PNP doctorate. Maryville’s online DNP-NP fills that gap for master’s-prepared nurses who want Primary Care PNP preparation and a doctorate in one program. APRN certification is not required to apply.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maryville University (online) | Primary Care | $64K | 36 months | Not clearly stated |
Compare more programs: See all MSN-to-DNP PNP programs
Oregon Post-Master’s Certificate PNP Programs
OHSU offers no post-graduate PNP certificate, so MSN-prepared nurses in Oregon must study online to add a pediatric population. Maryville offers Primary Care. UTA offers Primary Care and Acute Care, with each plan set by a gap analysis of the applicant’s MSN transcript.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maryville University (online) | Primary Care | $32K | ~24 months part-time | Not clearly stated |
| UT Arlington (online) | Primary Care | $13K–$21K | ~12 months (est.) | ~720 (est.) |
| UT Arlington (online) | Acute Care | $16K–$24K | ~14 months (est.) | ~720 (est.) |
- Lowest estimated tuition: UTA Primary Care, at $13K–$21K depending on the gap analysis.
- Only Acute Care option: UTA, which requires two years of high-acuity patient care within the last five years.
Compare more programs: See all Post-Master’s Certificate PNP programs
Frequently Asked Questions
How many PNP programs are available in Oregon?
One. OHSU offers a single dual Primary and Acute Care BSN-to-DNP. Not every online program can fill the gap: Walden University currently cannot enroll Oregon residents in any nurse practitioner specialization. Maryville and UTA can.
Does Oregon offer an Acute Care PNP program?
Yes, but only inside OHSU’s dual DNP. Oregon has no Acute Care-only track. Nurses who want Acute Care alone can take UTA’s online MSN or certificate.
Are any programs fully online?
Maryville and UTA require no campus visits. OHSU is Mostly Online, with executive-model intensives in Portland. OHSU does not publish how often they occur.
Which program has the lowest estimated tuition?
OHSU is the only in-state choice, at about $88K for Oregon residents, including required fees. Online, UTA’s Primary Care certificate ($13K–$21K) and Primary Care MSN ($27K) cost least. Maryville’s certificate runs $32K.
Which schools offer a DNP?
OHSU offers its dual DNP to BSN-prepared nurses. Maryville offers Primary Care doctorates for BSN and MSN entrants. UTA does not offer a PNP doctorate.
Can students complete clinicals locally?
OHSU faculty choose placements and assign preceptors, mainly at Oregon children’s hospitals, and the program sets the schedule. Maryville and UTA students complete clinicals near home. UTA students find their own preceptors, with department help if needed. Maryville does not state that it secures sites.
Can I become a PNP in Oregon without a BSN?
Not through OHSU, which requires a BSN or a BS in nursing. UTA’s online RN-to-MSN admits associate-degree nurses into Primary Care or Acute Care.