Nebraska has two in-state schools offering Pediatric Nurse Practitioner programs: Creighton University and the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC).
Together they provide both Primary Care and Acute Care preparation through MSN, DNP, and post-master’s certificate pathways, although only UNMC offers a standalone Primary Care track. Creighton’s programs are Mostly Online, while UNMC uses a Hybrid format, so no Nebraska option is fully online. Estimated tuition ranges from about $14K to $75K, depending on the school, residency status, and degree path.
Compare each program’s specialty options, online format, campus requirements, cost, and degree pathways below.
Nebraska PNP Programs at a Glance
- Number of schools: 2
- Primary Care available: Yes — standalone at UNMC; within the dual track only at Creighton
- Acute Care available: Yes — standalone at Creighton; within the dual track only at UNMC
- MSN available: Yes — UNMC only
- DNP available: Yes — Creighton only
- Post-master’s certificate available: Yes — both schools
- Delivery: Mostly Online (Creighton); Hybrid (UNMC)
- Lowest published tuition: about $14.3K — UNMC post-graduate certificate, resident rate, shortest plan
Compare Nebraska PNP Programs
| School | Tracks | Online Format | Campus Commitment | Cost Per Credit | Degrees | Best For |
| Creighton University | Primary + Acute Care | Mostly Online | Required Omaha trips | $1,050 cpc | DNP, Certificate | Doctoral applicants seeking dual PNCB eligibility |
| University of Nebraska Medical Center | Primary + Acute Care | Hybrid | Five Nebraska campuses: Omaha, Lincoln, Scottsbluff, Kearney, Norfolk | $716 cpc | MSN, Certificate | Lower-cost master’s or certificate preparation |
The two programs serve different audiences.
Creighton is the state’s doctoral option and the only school offering a standalone Acute Care certificate, but it charges private-school tuition, requires campus visits in Omaha, and requires 2,000 hours of pediatric RN experience for its dual-track DNP.
UNMC offers the state’s only MSN pathways at substantially lower resident tuition, with campus sessions held across five Nebraska locations. However, admissions are limited to one cohort each fall, and the school does not publish total clinical hour requirements or a guaranteed clinical placement policy.
PNPPrograms.com Study Format Guide
- Online: Coursework is completed online with no regular campus attendance.
- Mostly Online: Classes are online, but students must attend one or more required campus visits or intensives.
- Hybrid: The curriculum combines scheduled online coursework with recurring on-campus classes or labs.
- Campus: Most instruction is delivered in person on campus.
These study format classifications reflect each program’s actual attendance requirements and clinical expectations, rather than the terminology used in university marketing material
Choosing a PNP Program in Nebraska
Only Doctoral Pathway
Creighton is the sole in-state source of a DNP with a pediatric population focus, offered as a 70–71 credit BSN-to-DNP or a 43–45 credit MSN-to-DNP. Applicants who want doctoral preparation without leaving Nebraska have one option; those who want a master’s have one option. The choice is largely made by degree level rather than by school preference.
Lower Estimated Tuition for Residents
UNMC’s $716 resident per-credit rate produces the lowest estimates in the state across every pathway it offers, including a dual-population MSN at about $45.1K. Nonresidents pay $1,293 per credit, which narrows the gap against Creighton’s flat $1,050 rate considerably. Residency status, not school reputation, drives the cost comparison here.
Only Standalone Acute Care Option
Creighton is the only Nebraska school where acute care can be pursued on its own, through a 16-credit post-graduate certificate or an MSN-to-DNP, each carrying 525 clinical hours. At UNMC, acute care exists only inside the dual track. APRNs who already hold primary care certification and want inpatient pediatrics have a single in-state route.
Clinical Placement Support Is Unclear at Both
Creighton confirms that certificate students arrange their own preceptors and does not state the policy for its DNP tracks. UNMC does not state a placement model at all.
Because pediatric acute care sites are among the hardest to secure, applicants should request placement policy and clinical hour totals in writing before committing to either school.
Nebraska BSN-to-MSN Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Programs
Master’s-level PNP preparation exists at one Nebraska school. UNMC offers a 51-credit Primary Care MSN and a 63-credit dual Primary and Acute Care MSN, both on 3- to 4-year plans with a single August intake.
With only one in-state option, applicants needing additional start dates should also review national BSN-to-MSN PNP programs.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| UNMC | Primary Care | $36.5K resident | 3–4 years | Varies by Individual |
| UNMC | Dual (PC/AC) | $45.1K resident | 3–4 years | Varies by Individual |
- Lowest estimated tuition: the Primary Care MSN at $36.5K resident is the least expensive degree-granting PNP pathway in Nebraska.
- Only dual-population master’s: 12 additional credits convert the Primary Care MSN into eligibility for both PNCB exams.
Nebraska BSN-to-DNP Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Programs
One Nebraska school offers a BSN-to-DNP with a pediatric focus. Creighton’s 70–71 credit dual track prepares graduates for both the CPNP-PC and CPNP-AC exams and requires 2,000 hours of pediatric direct care RN experience before the first clinical course.
Applicants seeking more entry points should compare national BSN-to-DNP PNP programs.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| Creighton University | Dual (PC/AC) | $73.5K–$74.6K | Varies | 1,200 |
- Only dual-certification doctorate in the state.
- Highest published clinical requirement: 1,200 hours spanning primary care plus urgent, acute, and critical care settings.
- Experience gate: 2,000 pediatric RN hours required, with no more than 500 neonatal hours counting.
Nebraska MSN-to-DNP Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Programs
Creighton operates the state’s only MSN-to-DNP pediatric pathway, pairing a post-graduate DNP core with a 16-credit acute care certificate. The population focus is acute care only; dual preparation is available exclusively at the BSN entry point.
Applicants wanting primary care at this level should review national MSN-to-DNP PNP programs.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| Creighton University | Acute Care | $45.2K–$47.3K | Varies by Individual | 525 minimum |
- Acute care only: no primary care or dual option exists at the MSN-entry level in Nebraska.
- Variable requirements: credits and clinical hours may increase after review of prior graduate coursework.
Nebraska Post-Master’s Certificate PNP Programs
Both Nebraska schools admit APRNs adding a pediatric population, and together they cover all three configurations: acute care alone at Creighton, primary care alone at UNMC, and dual primary and acute care at UNMC. UNMC builds each plan through a faculty gap analysis, so credits, cost, and length vary by prior coursework.
| School | Track | Estimated Tuition | Duration | Clinical Hours |
| Creighton University | Acute Care | $16.8K | Individualized | 525 |
| UNMC | Primary Care | $14.3K–$21.5K resident | 1–2 years (up to 3 part-time) | Varies by Individual |
| UNMC | Dual (PC/AC) | $14.3K–$21.5K resident | 1–2 years (up to 3 part-time) | Varies by Individual |
Review more PNP certificate options nationwide.
- Lowest estimated tuition: UNMC resident certificate plans start near $14.3K.
- Only acute care certificate: Creighton, at 16 credits with rotations beginning in the first term.
- Only dual-population certificate: UNMC, an uncommon offering at the certificate level.
More Online PNP Programs
Maryville University PNP Programs
St. Louis | $900 cpc | Certificate / BSN to DNP / MSN to DNP / BSN to MSN / DNP
Maryville University provides 100% online PNP degree and certificate options for Nebraska nurses across MSN, BSN-to-DNP, DNP-NP, and Post-Master’s Certificate tracks with six annual start dates. Featuring no GRE requirement and local clinical placement flexibility, the tracks require 750 clinical hours focused on health promotion, well-child care, and complex pediatric condition management. Billed at $900 to $995 per credit hour, Maryville prepares Nebraska practitioners for high national board certification pass rates while advancing their clinical expertise.
Purdue University PNP Programs
West Lafayette | $500 to $600 cpc | Certificate / BSN to DNP / BSN to MSN
Purdue University’s School of Nursing invites registered nurses in Nebraska to enroll in its distance-oriented MS, BSN-to-DNP, and Post-Master’s Certificate Primary Care PNP tracks. With estimated tuition costs between $15,000 and $30,000, the hybrid structure integrates online coursework with 630 to 1,000+ supervised clinical preceptorship hours covering care from infancy through young adulthood. Nebraska clinicians receive focused instruction in advanced pharmacotherapeutics, health assessment, and quality improvement while completing clinical rotations in approved local settings.
Rasmussen University PNP Programs
Bloomington | $915 cpc | Certificate / BSN to MSN
Rasmussen University delivers MSN-NP and Post-Graduate Certificate options in Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (PPCNP) practice through a flexible online competency-based model accessible to Nebraska healthcare providers. Combining self-paced coursework with four local community-based practicums and a single on-campus weekend residency, the curriculum allows Nebraska nurses to manage their studies without weekly deadline constraints. Spanning 21 to 27 months with total estimated costs ranging from $29,087 to $51,130, these CCNE-accredited programs prepare graduates for pediatric board certification.
Walden University Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Programs
Minneapolis | $785 cpc | Certificate / BSN to DNP / BSN to MSN
Walden University offers online DNP, MSN, and Post-Master’s Certificate tracks in Primary Care Pediatric Nurse Practitioner (PNP) practice tailored for registered nurses in Nebraska. Operating on a quarter-credit schedule, the programs feature virtual skills labs, case-based reviews, and Practicum Pledge® field placement support to aid Nebraska students with local clinical pairings. With estimated tuition spanning from ~$35,690 for the certificate to ~$76,415 for the DNP, Nebraska RNs can gain specialized expertise in child development, acute and chronic condition management, and advanced health promotion.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many PNP programs are available in Nebraska?
Two schools: Creighton University and the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Between them they list seven pediatric tracks across DNP, MSN, and post-graduate certificate levels.
Does Nebraska offer an Acute Care PNP program?
Yes. Creighton offers acute care as a standalone MSN-to-DNP or 16-credit certificate, and within its dual BSN-to-DNP. UNMC offers acute care only inside its dual MSN and dual certificate.
Are any Nebraska PNP programs fully online?
No. Creighton is Mostly Online with required Omaha campus trips. UNMC is Hybrid across five Nebraska campuses. Applicants needing a fully online format should compare national programs.
Which Nebraska PNP program has the lowest estimated tuition?
UNMC’s post-graduate certificate at the resident rate, starting near $14.3K depending on gap analysis. Among degree programs, UNMC’s Primary Care MSN at about $36.5K resident is lowest.
Which Nebraska schools offer a DNP?
Only Creighton, through a dual BSN-to-DNP or an acute care MSN-to-DNP. UNMC’s PNP offerings are MSN and certificate level.
Are campus visits required?
Yes at both schools. Creighton requires Omaha trips, though the count per track is not stated. UNMC’s hybrid model is tied to its five-campus network.
Can out-of-state students enroll in Nebraska PNP programs?
Partly. Creighton is closed to residents of seven to nine states depending on the program and does not admit international students. UNMC admits nonresidents at $1,293 per credit, nearly double the resident rate.