Online PNP Programs in Michigan

3 Schools • 3 Mostly Online

Three Michigan schools offer Pediatric Nurse Practitioner programs: Spring Arbor University, the University of Michigan (U-M), and Wayne State University. All three teach pediatric primary care; Wayne State is the only one that also teaches pediatric acute care. Pathways include the MSN, the BSN-to-DNP, and post-graduate certificates. Every school delivers most coursework online but requires some form of live or on-campus attendance. Estimated resident tuition runs from about $20K for a certificate to $99K for a doctorate.

Highlights include:

  • Wayne State is the only school offering pediatric acute care, at the MSN, BSN-to-DNP, and certificate level
  • Spring Arbor is the only route for ADN and diploma nurses
  • Wayne State secures every clinical site; Spring Arbor students find their own preceptors
  • Wayne State requires a year of pediatric RN experience before clinicals begin
  • The University of Michigan holds an Ann Arbor intensive every term; Spring Arbor’s MSN requires one four-day residency
  • Stated clinical hours run from 500 at Spring Arbor to 675 in Wayne State’s certificates

Compare Michigan Pediatric NP Programs

SchoolPopulation FocusOnline FormatCampus CommitmentCost Per CreditDegreesBest For
Spring Arbor University,
Spring Arbor
Primary CareVaries by TrackOne 4-day residency $810MSN, CertificateLowest-cost MSN and ADN entry
University of Michigan,
Ann Arbor
Primary CareMostly OnlineOnce per term $1,746–$1,931 residentMSNResearch-university primary care MSN
Wayne State University,
Detroit
Primary & Acute CareMostly OnlineNot clearly stated $1,251 residentMSN, BSN-DNP, CertificateAcute care with arranged placements

Cost per credit is fee-inclusive: Wayne State’s figure adds its $69.63 per-credit student service fee; per-term fees are excluded.


What’s the Best PNP Program for You?

Lowest-Cost MSN

Spring Arbor University has the lowest estimated MSN cost among the supplied Michigan programs, about $42K with fees. It charges one rate regardless of residency, so the price holds for nurses outside Michigan.

Best for Working Nurses

Spring Arbor also suits nurses on full-time or rotating schedules. Courses are asynchronous and taken one seven-week course at a time, and the RN-to-MSN admits ADN and diploma nurses four times a year.

Best Primary Care Option

The University of Michigan requires 560 clinical hours, adds a dedicated procedures and skills course, and brings students to Ann Arbor each term for faculty-checked skills sessions. Its 3-year plan keeps the same curriculum at nearly the same tuition.

Best Acute Care Option

Wayne State University is the only supplied Michigan school with pediatric acute care. A placement coordinator secures hospital, ICU, and emergency department rotations, which removes the hardest part of an acute care program for most students.

Best Doctoral Option

Wayne State is also the only Michigan school with a PNP BSN-to-DNP, in either population. Specialty clinicals fall in the final year, leaving room to build pediatric RN experience during doctoral coursework.


Primary Care vs. Acute Care PNP Programs in Michigan

Primary care PNPs work in outpatient, preventive, school-based, and ambulatory settings. Acute care PNPs manage hospitalized, medically complex, and critically ill children. In Michigan, the choice also decides the school: acute care is available only at Wayne State, and only to nurses with inpatient pediatric experience.

SchoolPrimary CareAcute CareDual OptionExperience Requirement
Spring Arbor UniversityYesNoNoNone stated
University of MichiganYesNoNoNone stated
Wayne State UniversityYesYesNoOne year of pediatric RN experience required; inpatient for acute care
  • Strictest experience gate: Wayne State — every pathway requires one full-time year of pediatric RN work before clinicals, and clinic, home health, or school nursing does not count toward acute care.
  • Placements arranged for you: Wayne State — a clinical placement coordinator secures every site and assigns an NP preceptor.
  • Self-placement: Spring Arbor — students recruit their own pediatric preceptors in their home state, and no placement assistance is published.
  • Placement model unclear: University of Michigan — does not state whether it arranges preceptors or expects students to find them ⚠️.
  • Entry without pediatric experience: Spring Arbor — like U-M, it sets no pediatric RN requirement, so nurses new to pediatrics should line up preceptors before enrolling.

Michigan MSN PNP Programs

All three schools offer a PNP master’s. Spring Arbor and U-M teach primary care only; Wayne State offers primary or acute care on the same 47-credit structure. Spring Arbor is the only option without a BSN. The main trade-offs are cost, campus travel, and who finds your clinical sites. Tuition estimates below include material mandatory fees.

SchoolEntry PointPopulation FocusEstimated Tuition (resident)DurationClinical Hours
Spring Arbor UniversityBSN entryPrimary Care$42K2 years, 5 months500 hrs
Spring Arbor UniversityADN/diploma entryPrimary Care$57K4 years500 hrs
University of MichiganBSN entryPrimary Care$79K2–3 years560 hrs
Wayne State UniversityBSN entryPrimary or Acute$61K2–3 yearsNot clearly stated ⚠️
  • Only ADN entry: Spring Arbor — the RN-to-MSN bills BSN-level courses at $499 per credit and awards both degrees in one program.
  • Nonresident cost: Wayne State — the MSN rises to about $109K out of state, while U-M’s distance rate holds nonresidents near $95K and Spring Arbor charges everyone the same rate.
  • Licensure and live classes: Wayne State — requires a Michigan RN license and live class attendance, with the remote option limited to students living 60-plus miles from campus.
  • Single intake: University of Michigan — admits for fall only, with a December 1 priority deadline and a required video assessment.

Want an acute care MSN without live classes or a Michigan license? Compare BSN-to-MSN PNP programs nationally, and ADN nurses weighing alternatives to Spring Arbor can compare RN-to-MSN PNP programs. Out-of-state schools set their own rules on enrolling and placing Michigan students.


Michigan BSN-to-DNP PNP Programs

Wayne State is the only Michigan school offering a PNP doctorate. BSN-prepared nurses choose primary or acute care and follow the same DNP core and project sequence in both tracks. Fall is the only entry term. The 76-credit plan front-loads doctoral coursework, so the pediatric experience requirement can be met while the degree is underway.

SchoolPopulation FocusEstimated Tuition (resident)DurationClinical Hours
Wayne State UniversityPrimary or Acute$99K3–4 yearsNot clearly stated
  • Time to build experience: Wayne State — specialty clinicals fall in year three, giving BSN entrants two years to complete the required pediatric RN year.
  • Nonresident cost: Wayne State — the doctorate runs about $175K at the out-of-state rate, with no distance discount.
  • Practice hours to confirm: Wayne State — ask how specialty and project hours count toward the 1,000 post-baccalaureate hours expected of DNP programs.
  • No PNP MSN-to-DNP: Wayne State — its 38-credit post-master’s DNP adds doctoral coursework only and does not lead to PNP certification.

Short on pediatric RN experience, or already hold an MSN? Compare BSN-to-DNP PNP programs nationally, and MSN-prepared nurses can compare MSN-to-DNP PNP programs, since no Michigan school offers one. Out-of-state schools decide for themselves whether they enroll and place Michigan residents.


Michigan Post-Graduate Certificate PNP Programs

Two schools offer post-graduate PNP certificates, built for different nurses. Spring Arbor’s primary care certificate accepts any MSN-prepared nurse, with or without APRN certification. Wayne State’s two certificates serve only certified PNPs adding the second population: primary care PNPs add acute care, and acute care PNPs add primary care. Neither school offers a dual certificate.

SchoolEntry PointPopulation FocusEstimated Tuition (resident)DurationClinical Hours
Spring Arbor UniversityMSN entryPrimary Care$20K–$28K18–24 months500 hrs
Wayne State UniversityCertified PNP-PC entryAcute Care$31K1 year675 hrs
Wayne State UniversityCertified PNP-AC entryPrimary Care$31K1 year675 hrs
  • Transcript-based pricing: Spring Arbor — the range reflects up to 9 prerequisite credits assigned after transcript review.
  • Only fully online pathway: Spring Arbor — the certificate lists no residency, unless Advanced Health Assessment is assigned as a prerequisite.
  • Route to both credentials: Wayne State — a certified PNP adds the other population with a full 675-hour clinical load, not a shortened add-on.
  • Closed to FNPs: Wayne State — certificates exclude NPs from other populations, who need its full MSN or DNP instead.

Hold an FNP and want pediatric acute care? Compare post-graduate PNP certificate programs nationally. Out-of-state programs set their own enrollment and clinical-placement rules for Michigan nurses.


National Online PNP Options

Michigan’s three schools leave clear gaps. No MSN or doctorate is delivered fully online: Spring Arbor’s MSN requires a four-day residency, U-M brings students to Ann Arbor every term, and Wayne State’s remote option runs on live class sessions. Acute care exists only at Wayne State, behind an inpatient experience requirement and a Michigan license. No school offers a dual primary and acute care program or a PNP MSN-to-DNP. Only Wayne State arranges clinical placements. Nurses who need asynchronous acute care, coordinated placement without an experience gate, or a doctorate from an MSN will need to look out of state.

Spring Arbor University PNP Programs

Spring Arbor | $810 cpc | Certificate / BSN to MSN / RN to MSN

Spring Arbor University offers three primary care PNP pathways: BSN to MSN, an RN-to-MSN bridge for ADN and diploma nurses, and a post-master’s certificate. Coursework is online, one seven-week course at a time, with 500 student-arranged clinical hours and one four-day campus residency for MSN students. BSN-entry tuition is about $40,500... read more.

University of Michigan PNPPrograms

Ann Arbor | $1,746 cpc | BSN to MSN

The University of Michigan offers one primary care PNP pathway: an online MSN in 2-year and 3-year plans, with an Ann Arbor intensive each term and 560 clinical hours. Estimated tuition is about $76,000 to $80,000 for Michigan residents and $91,000 to $96,000 for non-residents. The online program is not open in 26 states and territories... read more.

Wayne State University Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Programs

Detroit | $1,181.47 cpc | Certificate / BSN to DNP / MSN to DNP / BSN to MSN

Wayne State University's College of Nursing in Detroit offers six PNP pathways: MSN and BSN-to-DNP tracks in both pediatric primary care (CPNP-PC) and acute care (CPNP-AC), plus one-year graduate certificates that let a certified PNP add the other population. Classes meet live on campus or synchronously online for students 60+ miles away. The college secures all clinical placements. A year of pediatric RN experience is required before clinicals, and acute care requires in-hospital experience... read more.


FAQ

How many PNP programs are available in Michigan?

Three schools offer 10 PNP pathways. Spring Arbor has a BSN-to-MSN, an RN-to-MSN, and a certificate. U-M has one MSN in 2- and 3-year plans. Wayne State offers primary and acute care MSNs, BSN-to-DNPs, and certificates.

Are any Michigan PNP programs fully online?

Only Spring Arbor’s post-master’s certificate requires no campus visit. Its MSN pathways require one four-day residency. U-M holds an intensive of up to three days each term in Ann Arbor. Wayne State teaches live online sessions to students 60-plus miles from campus but does not state its campus requirements.

Which Michigan school has the lowest estimated PNP tuition?

Spring Arbor, at about $42K for the BSN-entry MSN and $20K–$28K for the certificate, including fees. Wayne State’s resident MSN runs about $61K and U-M’s about $79K.

Do Michigan PNP programs arrange clinical placements?

Wayne State secures every site and assigns an NP preceptor. Spring Arbor expects students to find their own pediatric preceptors. U-M does not state who arranges placements, so get that answer in writing before enrolling.

Is pediatric RN experience required?

Only at Wayne State, which requires one full-time year of pediatric RN work before clinicals, in a hospital for acute care. Spring Arbor and U-M list no pediatric experience requirement.

Can nurses outside Michigan enroll?

Spring Arbor charges one rate nationally but excludes Alabama, Arizona, Louisiana, and New York. U-M’s distance program is closed in 26 states and territories. Wayne State requires a Michigan RN license within two semesters and charges nonresidents about 85% more per credit.